Blog Tour- The Crown’s Fate by Eveyln Skye Guest Post + Giveaway

TCF blog tour banner

I am so excited to be part of the blog tour for The Crown’s Game! I loved this book so much and I had planned to write a review along with Evelyn’s guest post ( 5 things we don’t know about Evelyn). Unfortunately, I had a bad fall last Friday and broke my wrist in a couple places so I’m not able to type comfortably so I’ll type up my review once I heal. And by the way, I looove all the facts about Evelyn I relate to 4 out of the 5 (and I wish I related to that one, lol).

About the Book

CrownsFate Final CoverThe gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

Book Details:
Formats: Hardcover (416 pages) and eBook
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 16th, 2017
Author Info + Social Media Links:
Evelyn Skye was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When she isn’t writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. THE CROWN’S GAME is her first novel. Evelyn can be found online at www.evelynskye.com and on Twitter @EvelynSkyeYA.
Author Links: WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Facebook
 

Guest Post- Five Things You Didn’t Know About Evelyn Skye

  1. I really like exercise.

I don’t always feel like working out, but when I do, I’m happy I did. There’s something about pushing myself and sweating and getting stronger that makes me feel badass. Plus, all that exercise balances out the cookies and sweets I eat! 

  1. I’m afraid of ghosts.

When I was in first grade, someone told me to go into the dark girls’ bathroom and summon Bloody Mary from the grimy mirror. I don’t think anything actually happened, but to this day, I’m still terrified of mirrors when it’s dark, which means nightfall finds me rushing any time there’s a mirror to walk by.

And yet, I have a story idea bouncing around in my head that involves ghosts… that’s going to be a terrifying writing process!

  1. I don’t like clutter.

Ahhh! Clutter! It drives me bananas when there is stuff all over the coffee table and on the kitchen counter and crammed into the hall. I’m forever trying to donate things to Goodwill, even though my family still needs or wants it. I know I’ll never live in a house that looks like a Pottery Barn because, well, real people live here, and people have STUFF, but hey, a girl can try, right?

  1. I am an introvert.

I really like people. Some of my favorite things are meeting readers at book events and hanging out with my author friends. But no matter how much I love these events, and no matter how social and outgoing I seem, I do have a limited “fuel tank.” I’m an introvert, and after a lot of people and excitement, I need quiet time to recharge, which often means curling up on the couch at home for a few days with a stack of books or reruns of “The Gilmore Girls.”

  1. I love surprises. 

I love surprises so much!! Even if I’m told there will be a surprise, I won’t do anything to spoil it. In fact, I’ll be extra careful not to spoil it. Recently, my boyfriend told me I couldn’t look in the closet in his home office, because there may or may not have been birthday gifts in it. I didn’t even step foot in the office, just in case. That’s how much I love being surprised. (P.S. It was totally worth it–the birthday was epic! Come see me at a book event, and I’ll tell you all about it if you ask.)

TCFIG

Rafflecopter Giveaway:

Open to US & International Applicant

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week 1
May 8th: Bookish Lifestyles – Review + Tote Design
May 9th: Brittany’s Book Rambles – Interview
May 10th: Alexa Loves Books – Author Guest Post
May 11th: It Start at Midnight – Mini Review + Fancast
May 12th: The Book Buzz – Review
Week 2
 
May 15th: The YA Book Traveler – Trailer + Interview
May 16th: Lost in Literature – Review
May 17th: Stories and Sweeties – Recipe
May 18th: My Friends Are Fiction – Review + Author Guest Post
May 19th: Paper Fury – Review

Harper Summer 2016 Blog Tour- The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

HarperSummer2016Tour

I am so excited to participate in the Harer Summer Blog Tour. My first choice was The Crown’s Game and when I got the email saying I was going to be the one to host this stop—I might have squealed. I decided to share SOME* of the reasons why I think you should pre-order this book (or request it from the library). But first, let’s find out the basics about the book.

*ahem…that would be the secret word

About the Book

TheCrownsGameThe Crown’s Game
By: Evelyn Skye
Release Date: May 17th 2016
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Summary:
Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown’s Game is not one to lose

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | The Book Depository

Reason’s You Should Pre-Order The Crown’s Game

I’ve read The Crown’s Game already and it was a 5 star read for me. I LOVED it and wanted to share a few reasons why.

The Setting!

dance!!!

One word…Russia. Skye really exceeded at bringing the reader to Russia with her descriptions and settings. I looooved it and add in a fantasy element? Absolutely wonderful.

Check out her Pinterest board to get a feel for some of it. And notice all those yummy baked goods? There’s a bakery and a wonderful character that creates such amazing sounding treats.

The Characters

Both Vika and Nikolai are incredibly in depth characters and I was riveted by both of their point of view. The book is written in third person and alternates between the character’s stories. I sometimes have trouble connecting with characters when a book is told in third person but not so here.

You know from the summary that these two go against each other in the Crown’s Game. I loved that dynamic and that I couldn’t choose a character I preferred.

Also, secondary characters play a large part and are done as well as the primary characters in my opinion.

The Magic Use

tumblr_l982reZrDD1qzcmp3o1_500

So, there is a fantasy element in The Crown’s Game and it’s beautifully incorporated into the world. The magic had a touch of romance about it too.

She’d never encountered magic that surged and glowed like this before. It wrapped around her like silk, and she found herself reveling in its warm elegance

It’s not all pretty spells though- you have a reanimated corpse, stone birds come to life and some other really amazing and creative elements sprinkled throughout the story.

A Game between Enchanters- the Crown’s Game

And this game between them? It’s to the death. Enough said.

A Masquerade Ball

200

There isn’t anything I love more than a masquerade ball. I blame Labyrinth for my obsession but nothing really compares to dances between two people in masks.

Giveaway

#1 – A Harper Teen Summer 2016 Catalog prizepack of 45 books*.

*Titles not included: The Crown by Kiera Cass, Escape from Asylum by Madeline Roux, Sing by Vivi Greene, The Countdown by Kimberly Derting, & United As One by Pittacus Lore
In addition to the one massive prize winner, we will also have 4 winners who will be able to select 3 titles they want from the Summer 2016 Catalog.
US Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

#2 – 5 Finished Copies from the Harper Teen Winter 2016 Catalog 5 books

Including-Clique by Kathy Parks, Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin, & The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig US Only How to enter: Collect the daily word from each blog stop during the Harper Summer 2016 Tour (a total of 50).

Once you’ve collected them all, email the complete saying to: HarperTeenTour@gmail.com

Prize Rules:

  1. Winner must have a valid US mailing address to receive the prize
  2. Winner must be over 13
  3. Only one (1) entry per person for Prize #2 – duplicates will be deleted.
  4. Only a completed phrase will be accepted as an entry – do not email each word/phrase daily. Wait until you have the complete saying and then email in.
  5. All email submissions must be received by 11:59 PM EST 3/31/2016.
  6. Winners will be selected 4/1/2016 and will have 48 hours to claim their prize before another is selected.
  7. Participating blogs and bloggers are not responsible for unsent, damaged, and/or stolen prizes offered by the publisher.

#3 – Leap Year Giveaway

4 of the most anticipated ARCs from Summer 2016 Books are: My Lady Jane, Ivory & Bone, The Crown’s Game and This Savage Song US Only How to enter: This giveaway will only run on February 29, 2016. The rafflecopter form will work for 24 hours and a winner will be chosen on March 1, 2016.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Linky List Code: