Lego Cover Art for Frozen Tides

The moment I saw this cover I knew I’d be adding it to the list of covers that I had to do in Lego. I started this ages ago and have slowly been working on it and I think it is finally done. I wanted to go with Lego fire but I never could succeed in making it look right so stuck with the original fire. I hope you enjoy it!



Past Lego Covers

Blocks Unhinged   The Immortal Rules   UnboundLego320

 LegoStillBlue320 thewinnerscurse320fin MortalHeartFinal KissOfDeception320 ACOTARLego320 TheWrath&TheDawnLego AMSDRLego320 QueenofShadows320fin

Interview with Morgan Rhodes + Back to Mytica Giveaway


I am thrilled to be sharing a post about Morgan Rhodes’ newest book, Gathering Darkness, with you today. I have been a fan of the series and Rhodes’ complex and brutal fantasy world since I randomly picked up the first book, Falling Kingdoms, because of its beautiful cover. Any fantasy fans should get to reading this series because it is engrossing, complex and expansive.

The aspect that appeals to me the most about this series is that it follows multiple point of views and does so wonderfully well. The characters are unique and each are incredibly interesting with their person struggles as well as their motivations.

Not only am I sharing a wonderful prize pack (wish I could enter myself!) but I also had the pleasure of asking Morgan Rhodes a few questions about the future of the series, the spin off series as well as who her favorite characters are.

The seeds of revolution have been sown…but in Mytica the lust for power reigns supreme.

THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo slays with sweetness—and a secret that might control Lucia’s magic—as she and vengeful Jonas lead the hunt for the all-powerful Kindred.

THE KRAESHIANS join the fray. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the vast kingdom across the Silver Sea, prove to be just as ruthless as they are charming as they manipulate their way to victory.

THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally, in the flesh, with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

And which side will Prince Magnus choose, now that he’s been betrayed by everyone he’s ever loved?


In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed…and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even love.

In AURANOS, privileged Princess Cleo is forced to confront violence for the first time in her life when a shocking murder sets her kingdom on a path to collapse

In LIMEROS, the king’s son, Magnus, must plan each footstep with shrewd, sharp guile if he is to earn his powerful father’s trust, while his sister, Lucia, discovers a terrifying family secret about her birth that will change everything.

In PAELSIA, rebellious Jonas lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Witches, if four, are put to death, and Watchers, immortal beings who take the shape of hawks to visit the human world, have been almost entirely forgotten. A vicious power struggle quickly escalates to war, and these four young people collide against each other and the rise of elementia, the magic that can topple kingdoms and crown a ruler in the same day.

Morgan Rhodes is the New York Times bestselling author of the FALLING KINGDOMS series. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess—the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, and reality TV, and is an extremely picky yet voracious reader of all kinds of books.

Follow Morgan Rhodes on Twitter, Tumblr, and Instagram
Find the Falling Kingdoms series on Facebook

Your characters are all beautifully flawed and the majority of them straddle the line between good and evil. Then you have the King of Blood, King Gaius, who appears to be entirely evil and exquisite in his brutality. How do you put yourself in the mind space to write his character?
The same way I put myself in any character’s point of view! I imagine what he wants, what his motivation is, and what’s currently in his way. A believable villain never sees himself as a villain, he’s simply doing what he needs to do to get what he wants. And I actually don’t see Gaius as entirely evil. His moral compass is just set a little differently than most other people’s.

You also utilize many points of view in this series which adds a depth to the storytelling. Is it more difficult to tell a story from so many viewpoints vs just one or two?
OH YES. 😉 But I do think it’s worth it to see many sides of the main situation and I do enjoy a challenge!

Do you personally have a favorite character or is it impossible to choose?
I love all of my characters, but I will admit that Cleo and Magnus are the most fun for me to write, especially in their scenes together.

If it were possible, would you want to have a magical ability and which one?
I would love to be able to teleport myself anywhere, since I’m usually at least ten minutes late for almost everything if I have to drive there.

I had originally thought that the Falling Kingdoms series was going to be three books but am excited to have learned it’ll be more! How many total books are planned and can you tell us a bit about the spin off series?
Yes! I’m very happy to say that the main Falling Kingdoms series will be six books long. I’m currently writing book four, which is due to my editor just after the new year. A Book of Spirits and Thieves (out June 23, 2015) is the first in a spin-off/companion trilogy to Falling Kingdoms. It follows three main viewpoint characters, two in our contemporary world, and one in Mytica, a thousand years before the events in Falling Kingdoms. In our world, there is a secret society headed by a mysterious leader who seeks an ancient, unreadable book filled with magic. The book falls into the hands of two sisters whose lives are changed forever from the moment they touch it. Meanwhile, in Mytica, we follow a young ghost-buster whose path crosses with the Goddess Valoria’s who requires his very special powers. Soon the threads of my main characters, here and in Mytica, begin to intertwine in unexpected and exciting ways.




One (1) winner receives:

  • Falling Kingdoms postcard set,
  • Falling Kingdoms tshirt,
  • plus copies of Falling Kingdoms, Rebel Spring and Gathering Darkness.

Prizing & samples courtesy of Penguin Young Readers
Giveaway open to US addresses only

a Rafflecopter giveaway